CIMG0438 (1) - Edited.jpg

Don’t get me wrong, I like the warmth of the sun on my back and I don’t look forward to being cold.  But why, when I am hot and ask for a window to be opened, am I at the mercy of cold people? They always seem to get their way and the windows stay closed.  I used to work in an open-plan office and dreaded those in-between days – those days that whilst the weather is not brilliant there is no need to be hermetically sealed in the building.  I could never understand why the cold amongst us didn’t wear more clothing.  It’s not as if they didn’t know they were cold.  If I wore any less – it would be indecent.  It was okay when the sun was out and it was officially warm – then the windows could be opened with impunity.  At least until the draughts started!

During my yoga class I sometimes ask for a window to be opened, so that I can enjoy the fresh sea breeze.  However I kept my mouth shut if it was not cracking the flags outside – ‘but I am cold’ someone would moan and so I  was left feeling hot, stuffy and slightly odd.  For wanting air!!  The request to open a window is always deferred to the cold – and they always get a veto.

But no more.  The other week I simply asked the question ‘Why does cold trump hot?’ and after a bit of philosophical debate (yoga class?!?) the window was opened and the cold lived with it.  Hopefully they discovered that they could tolerate a bit of cool air without ‘freezing’, without ‘feeling a draught’, without dying of hypothermia.  It would seem from our discussion that hot is associated with luxury and therefore something that can be withstood, whilst ‘cold’ is suffering and should therefore be avoided at all cost.

I accept the argument  but don’t necessarily agree with it.  Come and see the ‘luxury’ when I am over-heating in an airless building on a sunny day.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

